Home Contact Us Feedback
About Australia

Australia Polity

Australia Cities

Australia Maps

Australia Economy and Business

Australia Education

Australia Sports

Australia Tourism

Australia Careers

Australia Entertainment and Media

Compare Infobase Limited

Developed and Promoted by Compare Infobase Ltd.

Northern Territory Australia

The Northern Territory of Australia is a federal territory, whose capital city is Darwin. The two most important areas of Northern Territory Australia include Katherine and Alice Springs. The inhabitants of this Northern Territory of Australia are known ‘Territorians’.

The original inhabitants of the Northern Territory Australia were the Indigenous Australians who lived there for about 40,000 years. The Northern Territory was a part of New South Wales from 1825 up to 1863. Then in 1911, the Northern Territory was cut off from South Australia and was brought under Commonwealth control. Then the place was divided into North and Central Australia between 1927 and 1931. During the Second World War, most parts of the Northern Territory of Australia were managed by military personnel. In 1978, the Territory became a federal territory and a Legislative Assembly was formed which was headed by the Chief Minister.

The Northern Territory of Australia has proclaimed the Sturt’s Desert Rose as the floral emblem of the territory on 12 July 1961. The proclamation was made with the name Cienfugosia gossypioides which has now been replaced by Gossypium sturtianum var. sturtianum. Since the self-government status was granted to the Northern Territory Australia in 1978, the Sturt’s Desert Rose has been a part of the parliament and has become emblematic of the region.

After Northern Territory Australia gained the self-government status, the need for the adoption of territorial flag was realized. The government asked the public for designs of the flag. The original flag was designed by Robert Ingpen, an Australian artist. The official colors of the flag which was proposed were white, black and ochre. The flag of Northern Territory Australia has the Sturt’s Desert Rose in a stylized pattern, with the Southern Cross constellation. The seven white petals and the seven-pointed black star forming the centre of the flower symbolize the six Australian States and the Northern Territory. This flag was first hoisted on 1 July, 1978 in an official ceremony.

The Northern Territory Australia has a unicameral parliament and the legislative assembly is situated on State Square, Darwin. The Legislative Assembly of Northern Territory Australia was formed by an act of Parliament in 1974 after replacing the Legislative Council which was partly elected. After 1978, the number of legislative members was increased to 25 and each member is elected for four years. All the legislative members are elected by preferential system of voting. The legislations passed by the Assembly requires royal assent.

At present, Northern Territory Australia has two major political parties, Australian Labor Party and Country Liberal Party. The Country Liberal Party has ruled from November 1974 till December 2001. Some of the popular ministries under this party were Everingham, Letts, Tuxworth, Hatton, Perron and Burke. The Labor Party came in power on 27 August 2001 and is ruling till date. The Martin Ministry is the leading ministry of the Labor Party.

At present the current Chief Minister of Northern Territory Australia is Clare Martin, who is the first female and Labor party candidate to handle this position. The Northern Territory of Australia is represented in the House of Representatives by two elected members.

Much of the development of Northern Territory Australia is based on its tourism sector which is the highest revenue generating sector and every year thousands of visitors visit this place.
Related Links
© Copyright 2007 Compare Infobase Limited. All rights reserved.