Home Contact Us Feedback
About Australia

Australia Polity

Australia Cities

Australia Maps

Australia Economy and Business

Australia Education

Australia Sports

Australia Tourism

Australia Careers

Australia Entertainment and Media

Compare Infobase Limited

Developed and Promoted by Compare Infobase Ltd.

Australian Capital Territory

Australian Capital Territory is located on the east coast of the country and has the city of Canberra within it. The total region of the capital territory of Australia is about 2,358 square kilometers. It is one of the smallest territories of Australia to have a self government. This territory is encompassed by the New South Wales. The total population of Canberra is 325,000. Originally this land belonged to the aboriginals who were marginalized with the coming of the Europeans in this territory. In 1901 Canberra was declared the capital soon after the formation of Commonwealth of Australia. The name Canberra of the capital city of Australia is derived from the aboriginal language. This region has been selected as the capital territory in 1908. The whole city was planned scientifically by an international designer and by 1927 parliament house was constructed in this area.
The emblems of Australian Capital Territory:
  • Gang- gang Cockatoo is the animal emblem
  • Royal Bluebell is the Floral emblem
Blue and gold are the two official colours of this territory and the flag of ACT consists of these colours.

The government of Australian Capital Territory has the chief minister as its head. The current chief minister of this territory is Jon Stanhope. There are various boards, councils, and commissions which help in the proper governance of the territory. Currently there are about seventeen legislative members in the parliament. The Australian Capital Territory has a number of instruments to make the legislation smooth and efficient. The administrative delegations, subordinate laws and notifiable instruments are the major tools to help in the administration.

There are many ministries and the departments in the government of the Australian Capital Territory. Some of the departments are Disability, Housing and Community Services, Health, Planning and Land Authority and Education. To the Federal parliament of Australia there are in total four representatives from Australian Capital Territory. The members who represent the House of Representative are elected from the two constituencies and there are two senators. The government falls within the council of Australian Government. The government has a very efficient emergency service which ranges from police services to fire services, from current emergencies to state emergency services.

The governmental centre of the ACT is a massive beautiful building of unique architectural design. This is also a major tourist destination of the city of Canberra. The parliament house has a library which keeps an in detailed record of the proceeding which takes place in the Legislative Assembly. The department of territory and municipal services of the Australian Capital Territory maintains four shopfronts which are Belconnen Shopfront, Tuggeranong Shopfront, Dickson Shopfront and Woden Shopfront. The Capital Territory of Australia does not have any separate administrator like some of the other Australian territories.

The most colouful time in this Australian territory is during the Floriade festival which displays a wide range of flowers which blooms in this area.
Related Links
© Copyright 2007 Compare Infobase Limited. All rights reserved.