Home Contact Us Feedback
About Australia

Australia Polity

Australia Cities

Australia Maps

Australia Economy and Business

Australia Education

Australia Sports

Australia Tourism

Australia Careers

Australia Entertainment and Media

Compare Infobase Limited

Developed and Promoted by Compare Infobase Ltd.

Murdoch University

Murdoch University is one of the leading educational institutions of Australia which is located at Perth, Western Australia. The Murdoch University has three campuses at Rockingham, Murdoch and Peel. The Murdoch University is the only university in Australia which has received the highest ranking for graduate studies. The Murdoch University was formally set up in the year 1973 and was opened on 17th September, 1974. This date was chosen for the formal opening of the university because this date marked the 100th birth anniversary of Sir Walter Murdoch. At present the university has a total strength of 14,000 students, out of which 2,000 are international students.

The Murdoch University offers a wide variety of courses in arts, science and engineering and health science divisions. The Division of Arts is the biggest academic area within the University. This division is the home to 10 research institutes. The Division of Art comprises of the following schools of studies: Murdoch Business School
  • School of Law
  • School of Information Technology
  • School of Social Sciences and Humanities
  • Institute for Sustainability and Technology Policy
  • School of Media Communication & Culture
The Division of Health Sciences offers courses in psychology, biomedical sciences and veterinary science. The following schools are part of this division:
  • School of Psychology
  • School of Nursing
  • School of Chiropractic
  • School of Pharmacy
  • School of Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences
The Division of Science & Engineering is one of the most competitive and well-organised divisions of the Murdoch University which completely meets the industry requirements. The schools within this division are:
  • School of Environmental Science
  • Chemical and Mathematical Science
  • Biological Science & Biotechnology
  • Electrical, Energy and Process Engineering
All these schools provide research opportunities and a wide variety of programs to choose from for all its students. The Murdoch University offers more than 80 undergraduate courses and 90 courses in graduate level.

The fee for the different courses at the Murdoch University depends on the courses and time spans of each of them. Most of the indigenous students have the opportunity to avail for the Commonwealth Supported Places. In case of students who have availed the HECS-HELP or FEE-HELP option, they do not need to repay their debt unless they start earning. In general, the fee at Murdoch University is paid at the end of week one of each semester. The Murdoch University also offers scholarship opportunities for all its students. Students may avail the Commonwealth Accommodation Scholarships or Commonwealth Education Costs Scholarships. They can either apply for one of these scholarships and also for the Murdoch Equity Scholarships and the Murdoch Laptop Scholarships.

The Murdoch University also offers accommodation facilities for its students. The Student Village Accommodation provides the chance to stay very close to the University. At present there are 98 self-contained flats at the village. While most of them prefer single rooms, others like to share among the 33 twin share rooms. All the rooms of the village are fully furnished with the basic amenities of life.

The visa requirements for international students at the Murdoch University are very similar to that of the Australian government and are stated by the Australian Immigration Department. The international students can also avail scholarships at the Murdoch University which are offered by the Australian Government.
Related Links
© Copyright 2007 Compare Infobase Limited. All rights reserved.